Homesick

Every time I see someone I know from Bolivia, I get a little bit of homesickness; I choke up and find it hard to talk. And I’d give anything to be able to go back right away.
I thought I was the only one who experienced that particular feeling until I started reading some missionary quotes and found that this feeling of “inverted homesickness” is not unique to me. I’ll share two quotes.

“The great Pioneer Missionaries all had ‘inverted homesickness’ this passion to call that country their home which was most in need of the Gospel. In this passion all other passions died; before this vision all other visions faded; this call drowned all other voices. They were the pioneers of the Kingdom, the forelopers of God, eager to cross the border-marches and discover new lands or win new-empires” – Samuel Zwemer

“There is nothing finer nor more pathetic to me than the way in which missionaries unlearn the love of the old home, die to their native land, and wed their hearts to the people they have served and won; so that they cannot rest in England, but must return to lay their bones where they spent their hearts for Christ. How vulgar the common patriotisms seem beside this ‘inverted homesickness,’ this passion of a kingdom which has no frontiers and no favoured race, the passion of a homeless Christ!” – P.T. Forsyth, D.D.

Guys, I want to go home.
Please keep me in you prayers.

One thought on “Homesick

  1. KJ Benefield says:

    Wow, I like that term ‘inverted homesickness’.

Leave a Reply

